End of and era: One last ride

I am going to use this same write up on both Jeep sites using different pictures.

Today was a sad day. I ended my 24 year run with my military Jeeps at 7:45 this morning. The guy was supposed to be at the pickup location at 8am but he texted and said he was going to be there by 7:15 – I was on my way out the door to spend a few more minutes with the Jeeps to get them started up/warmed up and make sure everything was loaded. Instead I had to rush out, crank them up, warm them up , hook up the trailer and take off a mile up the road to meet the carrier.

I fired up the Army Jeep first – started and idled with no problem. I set the choke half way and 4 clicks on the throttle. Then I moved over to the USMC Jeep – same thing – fired right up. I set the choke and throttle. By that time, I moved back to the Army Jeep and adjusted the choke/throttle. Back to the USMC – I took the tag off of it and adjusted it. I looked around to make sure everything was in the trailer that was going with them – all of the canvas, doors, trailer canvas and spare parts box. I adjusted closed the choke/throttle on both of them and let them idle for a minute more – time to say goodbye while I was alone! I can only imagine it is like sending a child off for college because I know I will see them again at the Denton show or I can always go to visit the new owner if he doesn’t bring them to the show. But they aren’t mine anymore. I can’t go outside to tinker with them or go for a ride or cuss them because they wouldn’t start when I wanted to go for a ride, LOL. Good times! I have the memories and pictures.

Here’s the last ride up the driveway:

Getting out on the road:

Halfway there:

Saying goodbye one last time:

Loaded up and off to the new owner – GONE, just like that! So long 316784!

Now I have empty garage syndrome:

Well not quite empty, LOL – but now I have space to work on getting rid of unused stuff.

I got rid of the military Jeeps, but they are being replaced by a NEW(er) 2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU Big Bear. I have been wanting to buy a new Jeep since I got rid of my 1993 Wrangler YJ back in 1997. Now, with the funds freed up by selling my hobby, I was able to put a real nice down payment on one and still have money left to put toward paying my mortgage off and saving. I guess that helps a little with the empty garage syndrome thing.

One thought on “End of and era: One last ride”

  1. You made my heart cry. I guess after having and working on them almost 25 years, it is a sad day. You wrote a very good farewell.

    Like

Leave a comment